Annual Awards

(Photo by US Speedskating)

US Speedskating recognizes its athletes, members, coaches and clubs through annual award nominations and recognition. 

Find a list of all the award winners below:


Most recent recipients:

PRESIDENT'S AWARD - not awarded in 2023

ERIC HEIDEN ATHLETE OF THE YEAR - Jordan Stolz, 2023 Recipient 

  • Named for Eric Heiden due to his high level of achievement 
  • Recommendations of eligible athletes made by the High Performance team - awarded to one athlete
  • Started in 2003, but only awarded as deemed necessary
  • Final decision made by USS President or committee created by the President
  • Given to athlete with the highest achievement of the season
  • Olympic events and World Championships carry more weight than World Cup titles or national championships
  • If a Short Track and Long Track athlete are deserving, a decision must be made between the two
  • Recommendations made at the end of the elite skating season, a minimum of four weeks prior to the USS Congress

USOPC COACHING AWARDS - Jacob Roberts, 2022 USOPC Volunteer Coach of the Year;

  • Development Team Coach
  • Volunteer coach
  • Nominated by US Speedskating Members - Nominations due to USS by October 1st
  • Selected by Coaching Task Force

AAC DEDICATION TO SPORT AWARD - Ashley Granata, 2023 Recipient

  • The winning athlete is someone who has shown dedication to the growth and betterment of speedskating
  • Nominated by the US Speedskating membership
  • Letter explaining how the athlete has improved the sport must be submitted to the AAC by mid-March
  • Selected by the current members of the Athlete Advisory Council
  • Winner announced mid-April

GEORGE HOWIE MEMORIAL AWARD -Steve Trynoski, 2022 Recipients

  • Picked by George Howie Memorial Committee
  • Ballot is distributed at the beginning of February
  • Awarded to a supporter of speedskating
  • Some emphasis on international experience and service to US Speedskating
  • One living and one deceased candidate each year